Home » Transforming Leaders » Delegates to General & SEJ Conferences

Delegates to General & SEJ Conferences

General Conference Delegates      General Conference logo

The United Methodist Church’s top legislative body met at the Oregon Convention Center, on May 10-20, 2016.

General Conference is the top policy-making body of The United Methodist Church which meets once every four years.

The conference can revise church law, as well as adopt resolutions on current moral, social, public policy and economic issues. It also approves plans and budgets for church-wide programs.

At that May session, the Commission on a Way Forward was proposed by the Council of Bishops and approved by the 2016 General Conference to do a complete examination and possible revision of every paragraph of the Book of Discipline concerning human sexuality and explore options that help to maintain and strengthen the unity of the church.

A report concerning this work will be presented to the Special Session of the General Conference called for February 23-26, 2019 in St. Louis, Missouri. The 2017 Tennessee Annual Conference voted to retain the 2016 delegates for this 2019 session.

The Tennessee Conference delegates can be contacted regarding the special session at COWF@tnumc.org 

Delegate meeting

Delegate meeting in March 2016.

   Laity                                                              Clergy                                              
Jim Allen                                                          Harriet Bryan
Holly Neal                                                        Jacob Armstrong
Connie Clark                                                    Stephen Handy
George Brown                                                 Jackson Henry

Southeast Jurisdictional Conference Delegates

The 2016 Southeastern Jurisdiction Conference met July 13 – 15, 2016 at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center in North Carolina. New bishops were elected for the jurisdiction during this gathering.

The delegation includes the eight delegates elected to General Conference (above), plus the following:

SEJ 2016 logoClergy
Max Mayo
Bryan Brooks
Tommy Ward
Cherie Parker

Joy Lewter
Angela Overstreet
Kent McNish
Heather Bennett

Alternate Delegates

Lynn Hill
Ken Murray
Paul Purdue
Michael Williams

Sarah Matthews
Deen Thompson
Todd Cox
Mike Griffin

episcopal logo
Commission on a Way Forward clarifies values as it presents two sketches to bishops

Feb 28, 2018 -   February 28, 2018 DALLAS – What is the Christ’s way forward for doing mission and ...

episcopal logo
Bishops to receive, discuss updated report from Commission on a Way Forward

Feb 23, 2018 - February 23, 2018 WASHINGTON, DC – With attention on the missional and theological foundations of The ...

At Table: UMs Seeking a Way Forward | Special Retreat Invitation

Feb 9, 2018 - The work of the Commission on the Way Forward is on the minds of many if ...

Timeline | Commission on a Way Forward

January 18-20, 2018: Commission on a Way Forward meeting February 25-28, 2018: Council of Bishops meeting

Watch GC2016 episcopal address

PORTLAND, Ore. (UMNS) — Ohio West Area Bishop Gregory V. Palmer, on behalf of the Council

Free online course helps engage more people with General Conference

Exploring General Conference, a free online course from United Methodist Communications, is designed to help participants