Chairs of Orders/Fellowship Elected

Home | News | Chairs of Orders/Fellowship Elected
The Tennessee Conference Order of Deacons, Order of Elders, and Fellowship of Local Pastors/Associate Members have elected new leadership for the 2016-2020 quadrennium.
The Rev. Trey Carey, Pastor of Youth and College Ministries at Murfreesboro First United Methodist Church, has been elected to chair the Order of Deacons. The Rev. Marie King, pastor of Sixty-First Avenue United Methodist Church in Nashville, will serve as co-chair.
The Rev. Jerry Wallace, Senior Pastor of Springfield First United Methodist Church, has been elected to chair the Order of Elders. The Rev. Regina Hall, Senior Pastor at Donelson Heights United Methodist Church, will serve as co-chair.
The Rev. Phoebe Jowers, pastor of the Standing Rock Charge in the Clarksville District, has been elected to chair the Fellowship of Local Pastors and Associate Members. The Rev. Kenneth Townsend, pastor at Centenary/New Bethel Charge, will serve as co-chair.
The 2012 Book of Discipline outlines the purpose of the orders/fellowship as 1) providing for regular gatherings of clergy for continuing formation in relationship to Jesus Christ through such experiences as Bible study, study of issues facing the church and society, and theological exploration in vocational identity and leadership; 2) assisting in plans for individual study and retreat experiences; 3) developing a bond of unity and common commitment to the mission and ministry of The United Methodist Church and the annual conference; 4) enabling the creation of relationships that allow mutual support and trust; and 5)holding accountable all members of the order/fellowship in the fulfilling of these purposes. (¶307, ¶323)