Bishops announce results of five constitutional amendments; two fail to get two-thirds majority

May 7, 2018 WASHINGTON, D. C.  The Council of Bishops of The United Methodist Church has completed canvassing the votes of annual conferences on the five constitutional amendments that were approved by the 2016 General Conference. Summary of Votes by Annual Conferences Amendment Total “Yes” Votes Total “No” Votes % of Yes Votes Amendment I 31,304 […]

Connectional Ministries Restructuring Team Begins Its Work

At the Tennessee Annual Conference in June, members approved the nomination of a Connectional Ministries restructuring team: Laura Brantley, Melinda Britt, Brad Fiscus, Chip Hunter, Amy Hurd, Ken Murray, Holly Neal, Carlos Uroza, and Bishop Bill McAlilly. This team began its journey of prayer, study, and collaboration on July 17. We will continue monthly with […]

Rev. Joaquin Garcia Receives Francis Asbury Award

Dr. Ed Trimmer, executive director of the Cal Turner Jr. Center for Church Leadership at Martin Methodist College (MMC), presented Rev. Joaquin Garcia the Francis Asbury Award at the college’s annual dinner held during the Annual Conference of the Tennessee Conference of The United Methodist Church. The Francis Asbury Award, presented by the Division of […]

2017 Award Recipients

Denman Evangelism Award Dr. A. Lynn Hill Chandra Inglis Beth Shirley Asbury Award Rev. Joaquin Garcia Rev. David Lowes Watson Richard J. Allison Social Holiness Award Rev. Ingrid McIntyre Nita Haywood Special Recognition:  Mary T Newman Angela Overstreet Merrilee Weininger Order of St. Andrew Award Rev. Michael O’Bannon Cloyd Scholarship Award Kaitlynn Vaughn

2017 Annual Conference Laity Luncheon

By Cindy Solomon Conference lay leader, Holly Neal, organized Tuesday’s luncheon where laity were treated to delicious box lunches made by Thistle Farms staff while learning more about the Tennessee Conference’s restructuring and the Mama Lynn Center for Congolese Women. Bishop Bill McAlilly addressed laity on the changes and challenges facing the Tennessee Conference’s decision […]