Rev. Joaquin Garcia Receives Francis Asbury Award

Dr. Ed Trimmer, executive director of the Cal Turner Jr. Center for Church Leadership at Martin Methodist College (MMC), presented Rev. Joaquin Garcia the Francis Asbury Award at the college’s annual dinner held during the Annual Conference of the Tennessee Conference of The United Methodist Church. The Francis Asbury Award, presented by the Division of […]

2017 Award Recipients

Denman Evangelism Award Dr. A. Lynn Hill Chandra Inglis Beth Shirley Asbury Award Rev. Joaquin Garcia Rev. David Lowes Watson Richard J. Allison Social Holiness Award Rev. Ingrid McIntyre Nita Haywood Special Recognition:  Mary T Newman Angela Overstreet Merrilee Weininger Order of St. Andrew Award Rev. Michael O’Bannon Cloyd Scholarship Award Kaitlynn Vaughn

2017 Annual Conference Laity Luncheon

By Cindy Solomon Conference lay leader, Holly Neal, organized Tuesday’s luncheon where laity were treated to delicious box lunches made by Thistle Farms staff while learning more about the Tennessee Conference’s restructuring and the Mama Lynn Center for Congolese Women. Bishop Bill McAlilly addressed laity on the changes and challenges facing the Tennessee Conference’s decision […]

Service of Licensing, Commissioning, and Ordination | June 13, 2017

  Download worship bulletin: Service of Licensing, Commissioning, and Ordination Watch: Video of Service This worship service was attended by the families and friends of those to be licensed, commissioned, and ordained as well as Tennessee Conference clergy who wore black robes with red stoles. Bishop William T. McAlilly gave the sermon, We Make Our Way By Walking. Music […]

Annual Conference 2017 | Day 3

  The final day of the annual conference began with the laity address from Conference Lay Leader, Holly Neal, followed by two learning sessions led by Rev. Scott Chrostek, author of The Misfit Mission and pastor of the downtown campus of Church of the Resurrection (Resurrection Downtown) in Kansas. The learning sessions were interactive with those […]

2017 Appointments List

At the close of the 2017 Annual Conference the list of clergy appointments was released. The list is arranged by district. Since the districts are new, the map below may be useful. 2017 Tennessee Conference Appointments rev.7-24-17